Climate Emergency: Citizens enter the parliaments

In the race against the climate crisis, we are ready to take political responsibility. In a powerful alliance of activists and citizens committed to climate protection - including students, scientists and parents - we entered the local elections 2020 in Erlangen with our own Klimaliste and are now represented with 2 seats in the Erlangen city council. Our aim is to achieve a profound change in climate policy in the city of Erlangen and beyond.

We need a much more ambitious climate policy on all political levels. What we have seen in the past are pure declarations of urgency that almost never lead to any action. An efficient climate policy can not be seen. We have no more time to lose. According to the Special Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), we probably have about 10 years left to avert the most devastating consequences of the climate crisis. Consequently, this means that we must use all democratic options for action to implement urgently needed climate protection measures.

In response to the declaration of the (unfortunately rather symbolic) climate emergency in Erlangen, we want to ensure that climate protection measures are put in place to reach climate neutrality in Erlangen by 2025. Klimaliste will act independently of already existing parties and explicitly work on solutions for the climate crisis and against the extinction of species across generations and societies.

We call on citizens to join us and to form similar alliances in other cities for local and state elections across the country.

โ€œMany politicians are overwhelmed by the issue of climate protection. We have the necessary knowledge for a consistent climate policy. In concrete terms, this means for us that we must go where the decisions are made - into the parliaments,โ€ says Prof. Dr. Martin Hundhausen, Erlangen.

โ€œThe generation of parents and grandparents has a special duty. The mistakes of the past that lead to a threatening increase in CO2 emissions, require committed actions and courageous political decisions,โ€ emphasizes Karin Bildl.

โ€œFrom now on, we will take our protests against the inaction of politicians on the issue of the climate crisis in order to achieve climate justice into the local parliaments. Intergenerationally,โ€ says Dr Karim Abu-Omar.

Our values

Our actions are based on the following principles, which we adopted on 4 July 2019

  1. We are united by the concern for life on our planet. We act independently of existing political parties and explicitly work on solutions to the climate crisis across generations and societies.

  2. We are against all forms of discrimination, social exclusion, racism and violence.

  3. We welcome people of all ages, sexes, religions, skin colours and sexual orientations into our organisation.

  4. We recognise the special responsibility to support the younger generations in helping them to shape our society and our political actions according to their ideas.

  5. Within our organisation we strive for flat hierarchies. Exercising power and authority must always be able to legitimise itself. People who exercise power must be able to justify this at all times.

  6. We interact respectful and appreciative with each other and with the people with whom we come into contact. The well-being of all of us is important. We do not harm ourselves or the aims of our organisation and in case of conflicts we try to find an internal solution.

  7. We also take part in political decisions outside of the scope of climate and species protection. In all of these decisions we are committed to our conscience.

  8. We reject any influence on us and our organisation exercised by economic or political interests.

  9. We are capable of learning and are guided by scientific knowledge. Scientists in our organisation bear a special responsibility to advise us objectively and to the best of their knowledge and belief on important decisions without patronising us.

  10. We rely on self-determination. All those who follow our values can be given the mandate to act independently on behalf of our organisation.

Klimanotstand: Bürgerinnen und Bürger ziehen in die Politik

Im Wettlauf gegen die Klimakrise sind wir bereit, politische Verantwortung zu übernehmen. In einem schlagkräftigen Bündnis aus im Klimaschutz engagierten Bürgerinnen und Bürgern — u.a. Studierenden, Wissenschaftlern, Eltern — haben wir uns dazu entschlossen, mit einer eigenen Klimaliste zur Kommunalwahl 2020 in Erlangen anzutreten. Erklärtes Ziel ist die Durchsetzung einer klimapolitischen Wende vor Ort.

Wir brauchen eine deutlich ambitioniertere Klimapolitik, die reinen Bekenntnissen der Dringlichkeit entsprechend wirksame Taten folgen lässt. Eine konsequente Klimapolitik ist aber weiterhin nicht in Sicht. Wir haben keine Zeit mehr zu verlieren. Laut Sonderbericht des Weltklimarates (IPCC) bleiben uns voraussichtlich noch circa 10 Jahre, um die verheerendsten Folgen der Klimakrise abzuwenden. Dies bedeutet für uns in der Konsequenz, wir müssen alle demokratischen Handlungsoptionen nutzen, um dringend notwendige Klimaschutzmaßnahmen umzusetzen.

Als Reaktion auf die Ausrufung des symbolischen Klimanotstandes in Erlangen wollen wir durch die Aufstellung einer eigenen kommunalen Liste sicherstellen, dass Klimaschutzmaßnahmen mit dem Ziel der Klimaneutralität bis 2025 auch konsequent umgesetzt werden. Die Liste wird dabei unabhängig von bereits bestehenden Parteien agieren und explizit generations- und gesellschaftsübergreifend an Lösungen für die Klimakrise und gegen das Artensterben arbeiten.

Wir rufen die Bürgerinnen und Bürger dazu auf, sich uns anzuschließen und auch in anderen Städten zur bayernweiten Kommunalwahl 2020 vergleichbare Allianzen zu bilden.

„Viele Politiker sind mit dem Thema Klimaschutz überfordert. Die notwendige Expertise für eine konsequente Klimapolitik bringen wir mit. Für uns heißt das konkret: Wir müssen dorthin, wo die Entscheidungen getroffen werden — in die Parlamente.“ so Prof. Dr. Martin Hundhausen.

„Die Generation der Eltern und Großeltern steht in einer besonderen Pflicht. Die Fehler der Vergangenheit mit einem bedrohlichen Anstieg der CO2-Emissionen erfordern engagiertes Handeln und dazu entsprechende Weichenstellungen in der Politik.“, betont Karin Bildl.

„Wir werden den Protest gegen die Untätigkeit der Politik beim Thema Klimawandel ab jetzt in die kommunalen Parlamente tragen. Generationsübergreifend.“, so Dr. Karim Abu-Omar.

Grundkonsens

Unser Handeln basiert auf dem folgenden Grundkonsens, den wir am 4. Juli 2019 beschlossen haben.

  1. Uns vereinigt die Sorge um das Leben auf unserem Planeten. Wir agieren dabei unabhängig von bereits bestehenden Parteien und arbeiten explizit generations- und gesellschaftsübergreifend an Lösungen für die Klimakrise.

  2. Wir sind gegen jede Form der Diskriminierung, soziale Ausgrenzung, Rassismus und Gewalt.

  3. Wir heißen Menschen jeden Alters, jeden Geschlechts, jeder Religion, Hautfarbe, und sexueller Orientierung in unserer Organisation willkommen.

  4. Wir erkennen die besondere Verantwortung an, die jüngeren Generationen darin zu unterstützen unsere Gesellschaft und unsere Politik schon heute entscheidend und nach ihren Vorstellungen mitzugestalten.

  5. Innerhalb unserer Organisation streben wir flache Hierarchien an. Macht- und Herrschaftsausübung müssen sich immer legitimieren können. Menschen, die Macht ausüben, müssen dies zu jeder Zeit rechtfertigen können.

  6. Wir pflegen einen achtsamen und wertschätzenden Umgang miteinander und mit den Menschen mit denen wir in Kontakt treten. Das Wohlbefinden aller ist uns wichtig. Wir schaden weder uns noch den Zielen der Organisation und bemühen uns im Falle von Konflikten um eine interne Lösung.

  7. Wir nehmen auch an politischen Entscheidungen außerhalb der Themen Klima- und Artenschutz teil. Bei allen Entscheidungen sind wir unserem Gewissen verpflichtet.

  8. Wir lehnen jede durch wirtschaftliche oder politische Interessen bedingte Einflussnahme auf uns und unsere Organisation ab.

  9. Wir sind lernfähig und orientieren uns an wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen. Wissenschaftler*innen in unserer Organisation tragen eine besondere Verantwortung dafür, uns bei wichtigen Entscheidungen objektiv nach bestem Wissen und Gewissen zu beraten ohne uns zu bevormunden.

  10. Wir stützen uns auf Selbstbestimmung. Alle, die unseren Grundkonsens beherzigen können das Mandat übertragen bekommen im Auftrag unserer Organisation selbständig zu handeln.